## 2022 TAAA&S-Hicks Award of Excellence Guidelines

The TAAA&S-Hicks Award of Excellence will be presented annually to up to three University of Tennessee Extension or Tennessee State University Extension faculty who are also members of TAAA&S. Applicants must have been members of TAAA&S for three consecutive years.

Staff selected should have exhibited excellence in agricultural programming (adult and/or youth areas) over a five-year period. Programs should show a profound effect on agricultural efficiency, development, sustainability, visibility and marketing within the county, area or state.

Nominations will be broadly solicited. Applications may be submitted by/for any UT-TSU faculty member meeting requirements and applications will address effectiveness of the nominee's performance within the most recent five-year period. Recipients of the \$1,500 TAAA&S-Hicks Award of Excellence will be ineligible for consideration for this award again for a period of ten (10) years.

It is suggested that the selection represent different work assignments of UT-TSU programming, including specialists and county agents according to their representation in the total TAAA&S membership. If a deserving candidate is not identified in any given year, the award will not be made.

## Format for application TAAA&S Award of Excellence:

- ✓ One-page letter of support from Regional Director or Department Head (State Specialists)
- ✓ One-page letter from a person familiar with the program
- ✓ One-page letter from a person being impacted by the program
- ✓ One-page resume emphasizing program impact using a 12-point font

## Evidence of program excellence may include:

- Adoption of research findings by clientele
- Consolidation of research findings from many disciplines into meaningful systems
- Effective communication with clientele
- Leadership of team outreach efforts
- Innovative individual outreach programming

Applications will be evaluated by the TAAA&S Executive Committee. The TAAA&S Executive Committee will recommend candidates to the Dean of Extension. TAAA&S Executive Committee members are ineligible for this award.

Announcement of the annual winners of the TAAA&S-Hicks Award of Excellence will be made at the Chancellor's Annual Promotion and Awards Luncheon. Each winner's program will be highlighted with significant information of how their program has advanced agriculture with their clientele.

## Deadline for entry is April 15th, 2022

Submit applications to Matthew B. Deist via email at <a href="mailto:mdeist@utk.edu">mdeist@utk.edu</a> or by mail to:

TAAA&S Secretary 302 Betsy Pack Dr. Jasper, TN 37347